Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency

Service tools

Navigation path

  •  Print

Action 2: Partnerships with Third Country Higher Education Institutions and scholarships for mobility

Partnerships in the framework of Erasmus Mundus 2009-2013 are the basis for enhancing academic cooperation and exchanges of students and academics, contributing to the socio-economic development of non-EU countries targeted by EU external cooperation policy. Consortia must include a minimum of 5 Higher Education Institutions from at least 3 European countries and a number of Higher Education Institutions from targeted non European regions. Special attention is given to disadvantaged groups and populations in vulnerable situations.

Action 2 provides:

  1. Support for the establishment of cooperation partnerships between European Higher Education Institutions and Higher Education Institutions from targeted Third Countries with the objective of organising and implementing structured individual mobility arrangements between the European and Third Country partners.
  2. Scholarships of various lengths - depending on the priorities defined for the Third Country concerned, the level of studies or the particular arrangements agreed within the partnership - for European* and Third-Country individuals (students, scholars, researchers, professionals).

    Click here for a quick guide on how to apply for a scholarship.

Action 2 activities are funded by different financial instruments available in the context of the External Relations activities of the Union (i.e. the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument, the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance, the Development Cooperation and Economic Cooperation Policy Instrument, the European Development Fund and the Industrialised Countries Instrument). Because of the diversity in the policy objectives covered by these financial instruments, and the different needs and priorities of the Third Countries concerned, Action 2 implementation rules may vary considerably from one year to another and from one partner country to another.

 * The possibility to award scholarships to European individuals depends on the financial instrument used to fund the cooperation activities with the Third Country concerned. Applicants are invited to refer to the annual Call for Proposals for detailed information applicable to Action 2 cooperation activities with individual Third Countries.

Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window 2007-2009

The Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window (ECW) was a higher education co-operation and mobility scheme launched in 2006 by EuropeAid Development and Cooperation and implemented by the Executive Agency Education, Audiovisual and Culture. It promoted partnerships and institutional co-operation exchanges between European Higher Education Institutions and those in third countries, as well as a mobility scheme with scholarships for student and academic exchanges.

The objectives and provisions of the External Cooperation Window were incorporated into the second phase of the Erasmus Mundus programme (2009-2013), as Action 2, Strand 1. The first Call for Proposals under Action 2 resulted in the selection of 30 partnerships in July 2010.

A list of all ECW and Action 2 partnerships selected to date can be found here:

You can find a list of all calls for proposals under the External Cooperation window here.

Last update: 17/04/2015  Print | Top of page